The Official Weblog of Ronnel Andaya

It’s All or Nothing

In Thoughts on August 7, 2009 at 10:04 pm

If you are an illustrator, a painter, a web designer, a journalist, or simply a serious blog writer, there’s nothing more formidable than a blank canvass, slate or paper. Often times, we have difficulty bringing out the best in us, especially in doing our creative jobs. It’s difficult not to be inspired, and it’s more difficult finding inspiration.

But what aggravates this is when you think that what you should be coming up with must outshine other’s works, or worse, that it should be the greatest among all the works you’ve ever done yet. If you are thinking this way, then you might want to take this abridged perfectionism test.

Is Being Perfectionist Good?

I remember when I was in an interview many months ago. The HR representative asked me what greatest weakness that I have. My brain stopped dead because I have just answered her previous question about what my greatest strength is with same answer, “I think I’m a perfectionist.”

I have seen perfectionism as both strength and weakness during that interview. Later on, I tried to ponder on it. Then, I realized that it is nothing but a weakness.

Being perfectionist is unreasonable in the strictest sense. You put unnecessary burden to yourself preventing you from coming up with an output.

This doesn’t mean that you will half-heartedly do your tasks, though. This implies that you must set achievable goals, learn how to be satisfied and appreciative, and not to focus on the negative aspects of your life or your work — be optimistic, but not too much. Surely, the world will be a happier and productive place for you. I’m sure about this. I did.

  1. Being a perfectionist is not at all that bad. There is a brighter side of it. Why settle to be the least if you can be the best? Be ye therefore perfect even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect… 🙂

  2. If you can’t be a highway then just be a trail,
    If you can’t be the sun be a star;
    It isn’t by size that you win or you fail–
    Be the best of whatever you are!

  3. Hmm… I like that verse! Can’t wait to read the rest of it.

Leave a Reply

